Waite wrestling looking for historic fourth City title

J. Patrick Eaken

Waite wrestling is looking to make Toledo City League history this season.

“Going to be an exciting season for us this year at Waite and we are going to be fun to watch,” said coach Russell Jennings.

“From top to bottom this team is by far and away the best team Waite has had in over a decade and is poised to win a fourth straight City championship, something that hasn’t been done in over 100 years of wrestling in the City League,” Jennings continued

Waite returns every wrestler from last year’s City championship team and added a few more this year including coach Jennings’ son Bryce Jennings to lead the team off at 106 pounds.

At 113, will be Jesse Sanchez, at 120 will be Tony Garcia, and at 126 Waite has two seasoned wrestlers going after that spot with Dylan Chavez and senior Chance Ramirez.

  Other starters include Abriel Garcia (132), Arnoldo Cintron (138), Austin Smith (144), Caleb Eischen (150), Rafael Córdova (157), Dekyris Young (165), Adam Mullins (175), Demarceano Viña (190), Jaime Vasquez (215), and at heavyweight is Gary Moody. 

Five individual champions, three runner-up finishes and one third place wrestler was more than enough for Waite to win its third straight Toledo City League wrestling meet last year.

Waite champions were Chavez (106), Chance Ramirez (113), Abriel Garcia (126), Cordova (160) and Moody (285). Four pinned their opponents in the final, and the combined time (2:23) added up in all four in those wins was not enough for one fully decisioned match — barely enough for one period of wrestling.

Waite scored 127 points, followed by Bowsher (90) and Northwood (50½). Start (40) was fourth, followed by Toledo Christian (28), Rogers (26), and Scott and Woodward tied for last with 20 points each.

Waite runners-up were Santos Hernandez (132), Eric Gonzales (138) and Arnoldo Cintron (145) and Tony Garcia (120) finished third.





The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association