Press Student Stars

Press Staff Writer

Eastwood students honored
        On April 6, Mason Franz, a 2018 Eastwood High School graduate, and Eastwood senior David Deniston were honored by the 11th District of the Free and Accepted Masons of Ohio.
        Franz formally received the 2018 District 11 Scholarship. Deniston received the 2019 Excellence in Youth Award. The awards were presented at the Grand Master's Reception by Jess N. Raines, Grand Master of Masons in Ohio.
        Both young men gave a short acceptance speech during which they thanked their parents, who also attended the event which was held at the Radisson Hotel at the University of Toledo.
        Franz is the son of Heidi and Chris Frantz, of Woodville. Deniston is the son of Carol and Alun Deniston, of Bowling Green.
        The students were nominated by Eastwood staff members who are members of Pemberville Lodge #516. Mason was nominated by John Cavendish, P.M., and David was nominated by Brian Myers.
Scholar-athlete honored
        Kennedy Sattler, of Oregon, was honored April 18 at Ohio Wesleyan University’s 15th annual Dale J. Bruce Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner.
        The celebration recognized Battling Bishop athletes from Ohio Wesleyan's 25 varsity sports for their academic and athletic successes during the 2018-2019 school year.
        Sattler earned the Top 50 Academic Award. She competed on the Battling Bishop softball team.
        The Dale J. Bruce Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner is named in honor of the late Dale Bruce, OWU Class of 1952, an All-America football end and longtime supporter of Battling Bishop athletics. Ohio Wesleyan is part of Division III of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and a member of the North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC). Learn more about Ohio Wesleyan athletics at
Scholarship awardee
        Elizabeth Griffith, of Luckey, has been selected for an academic merit scholarship to Delaware Valley University in Doylestown, Pennsylvania.
        The University awards admission merit scholarships to high-achieving high school students based on GPA and test scores.
Eastwood OMEA honors
        Eastwood High School band students performed at OMEA Middle School Solo & Ensemble April 13 at Defiance High School.
        Earning a Superior I Rating for a solo were: Sophia D’Amore, Grace Dubois, James Russell, Ian Sander, Mary Musteric, Curtis Nutter and Adam Stolar.
        Earning a Superior I Rating for an ensemble were Mary Musteric and Brenna Payne and Maggie Ramsey and Haley Sponaugle.
        Matt Hayes, Bryce Koprowski-Kisner and Sam Gannett earned an Excellent II Rating for a solo.
        Sophia D’Amore and James Russell; Maggie Ramsey, Zoe Ramsey and Haley Sponaugle and Eli Good and Curtis Nutter earned an Excellent II Rating for an ensemble.
Phi Theta Kappa induction
        The Terra State Community College Alpha Mu Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), a national two-year college honor society, inducted 28 students during a ceremony held April 15 at the Ronald L. Neeley Conference and Hospitality Center.
        Elizabeth Sabel, University of Findlay’s Assistant Dean for Student Success, delivered the keynote address “Take Chances.”
        Among the students inducted into PTK were Madison Benavides, Brittany Kerlin and Danica Shuck, of Burgoon; Zachary Nevius, of Gibsonburg and Mariah Kiser, of Helena and Daniel McMullen, of Oak Harbor.
        PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among associate degree students who are invited to membership on the basis of scholarly achievement, leadership, citizenship, character and faculty recommendation.
        To be eligible for membership, a student must have a minimum grade point average of 3.5 and have at least 12 hours of course work completed. Nina Schyllander, Associate Professor in Mathematics, and Michelle White, Assistant Professor in Mathematics, serve as a co-advisors.



The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association