Genoa wins third straight league golf championship

J. Patrick Eaken

Genoa golfers Ethan Smith, Tommy Giles, Isaac Simmons and Brock Pollauf are All-Northern Buckeye Conference first team as the Comets won their third straight league championship.
Smith, a senior, is the NBC Player of the Year with 238 points, averaging 37.8 strokes per nine holes. Giles averaged 39.2, Simmons 40.4 and Pollauf 44.4. Simmons and Pollauf are also seniors and Giles is the lone junior among the four lead golfers. The three seniors head into the sectional tournament hoping to eventually qualify for state their senior year as a team or individuals
“This particular group of golfers has been with me now for four years,” said sixth-year coach Mike DeStazio. “Brock, Ethan, and Isaac have been playing varsity since they’ve been sophomores. They’re a great group. They are definitely leaving their mark in the NBC as one of the better teams.”
As a team, Genoa scored 48 points by winning all four NBC shootouts and the league meet to take the title over second place Eastwood (40). Woodmore (37) finished third, followed by Lake (29), Rossford (24), Otsego (19) and Elmwood (13). The Comets have now won 14 straight NBC shootouts.
In the league’s final tournament at Green Hills Golf Course in Clyde, Smith was medalist with a score of 37-35—72 and Giles followed by scoring 40-38—78 as the team scored 318 to defeat second place Eastwood (362). Simmons shot 44-38—82, Pollauf scored 43-43—86, Mike Rightnowar shot 46-47—93 and Joey Large shot 46-45—91 for the Comets.
Also making first team All-NBC was Woodmore golfer Danny Greenhill (40.7) and Eastwood golfer Josh Hahn (43).
Second team selections included Lake golfers Hayden Rider (43.1) and Ben Luoma (45.6) and Woodmore golfer Ian Jacobson (46.7).
Three Eastwood golfers Adam Graber (46.9), Zach Buehler (48.4) and Trislan Schuerman (47.9), are honorable mention along with Large (47.5), Rightnowar (47.1) and Woodmore golfer Aaron Miller (47.8).
Otsego (48) won the NBC girls championship, followed by Rossford (39), Eastwood (35), Lake (33), Elmwood (25) and Genoa (18).
Otsego golfer Olivia Jackson (41.8) is the Golfer of the Year and she is joined on the first team by Lake golfer Kimmy Zoltani (46.4). Zoltani was the medalist during the league meet at Green Hills, shooting 44-40—84, good enough to defeat Jackson (43-43—86) by two strokes. Jackson and her team won all four shootouts, however.
Eastwood golfers Kendra Hagg (50.8) and Reagan Sheets (54.3) and Woodmore golfer Macy Perry (51.7) are second team.
Honorable mention selections include Genoa golfers Lacy Frias (53.6) and Lilly Schwable (58.1), Eastwood golfer Emma Bowe (53.4) and Lake golfer Kenzie Jackson (59.2).


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association