Genoa Scholarship Foundation growing, serving graduates

Press Staff Writer

        The Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation presented 76 scholarships to 44 seniors at the recent Spring Honors Awards Program.
        Forty-six individual scholarship funds offered 59 scholarships this year. A total of 17 additional scholarships were given by various individuals, businesses, and organizations in conjunction with the foundation.
        The community foundation, run entirely by volunteers, has grown exponentially over the past 32 years and now has $1.7 million in assets set to benefit the students in Genoa Area Local Schools for years to come. “Our growth continues due to a community program that is funded by caring, helpful and thoughtful individuals and alumni, along with local businesses and community clubs, who support Genoa Schools,” said Heidi M. Shank, the foundation’s recording secretary.
        Over the past five years, the foundation has awarded 378 scholarships. “We celebrate these deserving recipients and their future plans, including technical training and higher education pursuits,” Shank said.
        In addition to Shank, the 2023 foundation trustees include Alan Brown, Diane Gerkensmeyer (emeritus), Denise Hoyles, Mitchell Hoyles, Brian Huston and Chrissy Lewis.
        To learn more about the foundation, email, call 419-855-7741, ext. 21102 or contact a trustee.
        The 2023 scholarship recipients include:
        • Allen-Clay Joint Fire District Firefighter Associations Scholarship: Molly Coleman, Jasmine Johnson.
        • Helen Asmus Memorial Scholarship: Hailey Deverna, Haley Herman, Michael Lickert. Tara Reardon.
        • Stella Bertz Scholarship: Gabriella Millner.
        • Doris Brossia Memorial Scholarship: Carly Campbell.
        • Clay-Genoa High School Reunion Scholarship: Jenna Buder.
        • Curtice Kidz/Allen Township Scholarship: Aidan O’Brien.
        • Dehn Sisters Memorial Scholarship: Marin Butler.
        • Envirosafe Scholarship: Benjamen Loomis.
        • Timothy J. Fisher/Briana Bertok-Schack Memorial Science Scholarship: Aidan O’Brien.
        • Foundation Scholarship Fund: Orion Buffington, Jazmine Hoffman, Jacob Knitz.
        • Bruce and Alyssa Gackstetter Memorial Scholarship: Hope Hecklinger.
        • Genoa Area Federation of Clubs – Tomme Bergman Memorial Scholarship: Violet Plantz.
        • Genoa Area FFA Alumni Scholarship: Ceaira Adams, Nathan Cooper, Gabriella Millner, Ashley Pollauf, Gracie Sprague, Andrew Szepiela.
        • Genoa Area Music Boosters Scholarship: Alex Huss.
        • Genoa Athletic Boosters Scholarship: Emily Koza, Griffin Meyer.
        • Genoa Elementary Parent Teachers Organization (PTO) Scholarship: Gabriella Millner.
        • Genoa Grange Scholarship: Hope Hecklinger.
        • Genoa Area Kiwanis Leroy Fowler Scholarship: Gracie Sprague.
        • Genoa National Honor Society Scholarship: Gabriella Millner.
        • Genoa Wrestling Scholarship: Zachary Bierbaum.
        • Ron and Diane Gerkensmeyer Scholarship: Aidan O’Brien.
        • Margaret “Peggy” Hebert Memorial Scholarship: Braylen Bryant, Mason Drummond.
        • Lester M. Henningsen Scholarship: Jenna Buder         .
        • Roger and M.C. Hesselbart Memorial Scholarship: Addison Balduf.
        • Andrew Hirt Memorial Scholarship: Madison Wolf.
        • Jennifer L. Johnson Memorial Scholarship: Gracie Sprague.
        • Ryan Kimball Memorial Scholarship: Reagan Wiciak.
        • “Papa Joe” McLear Memorial Scholarship: Rose Heilman.
        • David K. Miller Memorial Scholarship: Nathan Cooper.
        • Edith C. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Sophia Cashen.
        • Grace H. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Alyssa Dwyer.
        • Helen L. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Gabriella Millner.
        • Irma Nolte Memorial Scholarship: Delanie Flores.
        • Curt Reinbolt Memorial Scholarship: Madison Wolf.
        • Carol Scharer Scholarship: Molly Coleman.
        • John F. Schultz Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Jimerson.
        • The Sheahan Family Scholarship: Aidan O’Brien, Gracie Sprague.
        • Siglar-Shessler Memorial Scholarship: Aidan O’Brien.
        • George Stuller Memorial Scholarship: Sophia Cashen.
        • Marcia Tank Education Scholarship: Aidan O’Brien. 
        • Marcia Tank Science/Engineering Scholarship: Sophia Cashen.  
        • Debra Sue Vine Memorial Scholarship: Carly Campbell.
        • Wagner/Sondergeld Memorial Scholarship: Robert Messenger.  
        • James Walton Medical Scholarship: Alexis Hayward.
        • Frances M. Weirich Memorial Scholarship: Ceaira Adams.
        Additional Local Scholarships*
        • Charles W. and Donna E. Foss Scholarship: Carly Campbell, Molly Coleman, Madalyn Karcsak. Hezeki Webb.
        • Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA) – Dave Miller Honorarium: Marin Butler.
        • Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA): Gabriella Millner.               
        • GenoaBank: Nathan Cooper, Griffin Meyer, Curtis Otto.         
        • Genoa Coterie Club: Jasmine Johnson.
        • Genoa Chamber of Commerce: Gabriela Lopez, Hezeki Webb.
        • Jennifer K. Martin Scholarship of the Ottawa County Foundation (an affiliate of the Greater Toledo Community Foundation, “GTCF”): Liberty Contos, Hezeki Webb.
        • Ohio Association of Public School Employees (OAPSE): Zachary Bierbaum, Curtis Otto, Natalie Woody.
        These organizations/trusts are affiliated with the Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation, but their scholarships are not funded by the Foundation.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association