Eleven inducted into Penta’s Ntl. Technical Honor Society

Press Staff Writer

        Penta Career Center inducted metro- and suburban-area students into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) during a ceremony held March 25.
        This year, 11 students were honored for their career-technical achievements.
        The NTHS is similar to the National Honor Society at comprehensive high schools, where students are recognized for scholarship, leadership, service, and character. Membership in the NTHS at Penta requires students to maintain excellent attendance, good behavior and a 3.5 overall grade point average.
        In addition, inductees must meet the seven attributes of NTHS – skills, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship, and leadership.
        The NTHS has been in existence for students at Penta since 2013. It was established as an additional way to recognize student achievement and leadership. Students who are members of the NTHS at Penta are also eligible for induction into the National Honor Society at their member schools.
        Students selected for induction into the 2021 NTHS at Penta include Mackenzie Hoot (Anthony Wayne) from Digital Arts and Design; Carson Charville (Eastwood) from Information Technologies Academy; Abigail Lipinski (Eastwood) from Dental Assistant; Candace Lawson (Genoa) from Dental Assistant; Marissa Betz (North Baltimore) from Sophomore Exploratory; Hope Carico (North Baltimore) from Sophomore Exploratory; Alessia Garner (Oak Harbor) from Firefighter; Abigail Brown (Otsego) from Digital Arts & Design; Katlyn Floyd (Swanton) from Sophomore Exploratory; Anna Wellons (Woodmore) from Medical Technologies Academy; and Olivia Cook (Woodmore) from Cosmetology.
        Each NTHS inductee received a membership certificate, pin, window decal, a seal for their high school diploma, NTHS spirit wear, and a white tassel to be worn during graduation. Senior inductees also receive cords that they will wear for graduation.
Academic honors
        Hudson Wolfe, a freshman mechanical engineering major, is among more than 1,200 Harding University students included on the dean's list for grades achieved during the fall 2020 semester.
        Michael Lindhorst, of Lindsey, was named to the dean’s list with distinction for continued high achievement at Bluffton University for the 2020-2021 fall semester.
Art on display
        The University of Mount Union is holding the annual student art exhibit virtually March 10 through April 9.
        The exhibit includes works from 16 Mount Union students, including Ava Smith, from Northwood. The exhibit includes paintings, drawings, photography and sculptures.
        The exhibit is available for viewing at mountunion.edu/2021studentartexhibit. For more details, email the Gallery Coordinator, Michael Schmidt, at schmidmi@mountunion.edu.
R.C. Waters Top Class Dojo Winners
        Several R.C. Waters Elementary students were honored as top ClassDojo winners for February.
        The school has been participating in a school-wide initiative called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) –a process for creating safer and more effective schools by creating a safe and productive learning environment. A set of unified expectations is in place in classroom and non-classroom settings throughout the schools – “Be Respectful, Be Responsible and Be Ready.”
        ClassDojo is a behavior-tracking system designed to reinforce positive behaviors and engage students in becoming responsible for their own choices. On a scheduled rotation, students are able to “shop” from the Dojo reward cart using the points they have earned for meeting the behavior expectations.
        February Top Class Dojo winners include:
        Kindergarten: Cara Rollheiser, Jack Behnke, Sydney Tymiak, Grant Leist, Makayla Forshey, Cylus Kitchin, and Gabe Rook
        First grade: Tommy Wallace, Ana Sigurdson, Braxtyn Bauer, Drew Boss and Adalynn Mitchell.
        Second grade: Christopher Gackstetter, London Tenney, Blake Martin, Shelby Cook, Willow Denman, Cora Kapp and Carrie Gahler.
        Third grade: Jack Crawford, Greyson Leist, Erica Biggert, Stella Laughlin, Tommy Revenaugh, Harper Schultz, Hailey Stoops. Rhiley Cover, Jethro Duez and Kasen Heminger.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association