CREP signup ends Aug. 23

Staff Writer

The Ohio Farm Service Agency is reminding growers that the signup period for Lake Erie Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program runs through Aug. 23.
CREP is designed to address agriculture-related environmental concerns.
Ohio’s CREP began in 2000 with the main objective of improving water quality in rivers, streams, and tributaries within the Lake Erie watershed with a special emphasis on the Blanchard and Tiffin Rivers as important tributaries of the Maumee River.
The conservation practices target environmentally-sensitive areas to reduce sediments and nutrients, minimize the risk of flooding, and improve habitat for a variety of wildlife species.
Landowners and farm operators may choose from a number of practices including grass filter strips, hardwood tree plantings, wildlife habitat, wetlands and windbreaks that are used to prevent chemicals, soil, and other contaminants from running off of cropland and into waterways.
The program allows participants to earn money on less economically viable land, such as land along ditch banks, streams, and woodlands.
In exchange for installing and maintaining these practices, participants will earn a guaranteed annual rental payment for 14 to 15 years plus receive cost share and potential incentives to cover the majority of the cost of installation.
The annual payments are comparable to what is paid for cash rent on the three predominant soils of the CREP practice area. Additional soil rental rate incentives are available as well. Also, FSA can provide growers with an estimate of the payments they would be eligible to receive for the duration of the contract period.
New in 2019 is a $200 bonus offered by the state of Ohio (through Soil and Water Conservation District offices) for all newly-enrolled filter strip and riparian area practices.
Current CREP participants with expiring contracts who re-enroll and expand the width of filter strips or riparian areas will receive bonuses on those added acres.
The Lake Erie CREP is available in 27 counties: Allen, Ashland, Auglaize, Crawford, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Huron, Lucas, Lorain, Marion, Medina, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Shelby, Van Wert, Williams, Wood and Wyandot.
To sign up for the program contact your county FSA office.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association