B-C-S board meeting: Teacher of the Year honored; athletes commended

Press Staff Writer

        The Benton-Carroll-Salem Schools Board of Education held its Regular Board Meeting June 28 at R.C. Waters Elementary School. The meeting followed the historic groundbreaking ceremony for the new Oak Harbor Intermediate School.
        Chris DeTray, of the Oak Harbor Lions Club, opened the meeting by presented the 2021-2022 Oak Harbor Lions Teacher of the Year Award to Kim Coffman, guidance counselor for Oak Harbor High School. Superintendent Guy Parmigian lauded Coffman for faithfully serving the students of Oak Harbor High School since 1994, both as a math teacher and guidance counselor.
        In addition, the board commended Oak Harbor High School students Alyha Marquex and Caitlynn Noble for earning sixth place at the Science Olympiad State Competition in the area of Trajectory. Teacher Lauretta Swint is the Science Olympiad advisor.
        Oak Harbor Softball State Final Four Team and coaching staff were also commended for their outstanding 2022 season. Players included Reagan Schultz (also first team all-state pitcher), Sydney Overmyer, Remi Gregory, Porter Gregory, Emma Reinhart, Emma Hand, Ava Geyer, Emily Sommers, Hannah Perry, Isabel Jensen, Ashley Schiller, Allie Giezie, Reese Adkins, Hannah Schimmoeller, and Alyse Sorg.
        The coaching staff included Head Coach Chris Rawski, and assistants Andy Szypka, Rob Schimmoeller, Danielle Epling, Kaytlynn Sandwisch and Brian Schultz.
        The board also lauded the Oak Harbor State Track & Field Athletes for their historic season. Girls track athletes included Rylee McKitrick – state participant in the 100 Meter Dash, and 4 x 100 Relay; Effie Schulte – state participant in the 4 x 100 Relay; Ally Garner – state participant in the 4 x 100 Relay and Amelia Mizelle – state participant in the 4 x 100 Relay and the 300 Meter Hurdles.
        Boys track athletes included Hayden Buhro – state participant in the 100 Meter Dash, 200 Meter Dash, eighth place in the 4 x 200, and State Runner-Up in the 4 x 100 Relay; Owen Miller – state participant in the 400 Meter Dash and eighth place in the 4 x 200 Relay; Judson Overmeyer – eighth place in the 4 x 200 Relay, Hayden Hower – eighth place in the 4 x 200 Relay and State Runner-Up in the 4 x 100 Relay; Jaqui Hayward – State Runner-Up in the 4 x 100 Relay; Isiah Miller – fourth place in the 300 Hurdles and State Runner-Up in the 4 x 100 Relay.
        The track teams were led by John McKitrick, head girls track coach, and Andy Augsburger, head boys track coach, as well assistant coaches Cole Weirich, Gina Warnke, Cole Heffernan and Beth Hubans.
        In new business, the Board approved the following resignations: Gail Overmyer as assistant cook, Tiffany Rogers as middle school track coach, Renee Williamson as head girls soccer coach, Loren Welch as eighth-grade girls basketball coach, Jonathan Head, assistant girls basketball coach, Ryan Lacer as boys head soccer coach, and Kim Coffman as high school guidance counselor. Fall supplemental coaches and advisors were approved for the 2022-2023 school year.
        The July Board of Education Meeting will be held Friday, July 29 at 7:30 a.m. at the Board of Education Office, 11685 W. SR 163, Oak Harbor.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association