Student Stars: Metro and suburban area students earn academic honors

Press Staff Writer

    Academic honors
        Baldwin Wallace University: Jacob Vickers, of Oregon.
        Berry College: Elizabeth Griffith, of Luckey.
        Bluffton University:  Kirk Kauder, of Curtice; Michael Lindhorst, of Lindsey; Jacob Boelkens, of Millbury.
        Canisius College: Grant Meyer, of Curtice.
        Cedarville University: Joseph Heise, of Northwood; Noah Board, of Millbury.
        University of Iowa: Emily Schiller, of Oak Harbor.
        Ohio University: Hanna Gerrard, Dominic O’Korn, Oscar Sanchez, Bailey Graver and Heylea Allan, of Oregon; Brenna Nye and Maisy Dewitt, of Curtice;
        Kyle Tomor, of Elmore; Karleigh Kirsch, Bracley Mendoza, of Gibsonburg; Connor Stewart, of Luckey; Gabrielle Sharkey, Taylor Beard, Emily McGee, Kennedee Weirich, Daniel Bollin and Anna Zeitzheim, of Oak Harbor; Hana Zollinger, of Woodville.
        Miami University: Elion Damsi, of Toledo; Blake Hornyak and Karis Gladieux, of Oregon; Nicole Schlea, of Gibsonburg; Morgan Rost, of Luckey.
        University of Mount Union: Alissa Loving, of Northwood and Madelyn Williams, of Elmore.
        Ohio Dominican University: Emma Bergman, of Oak Harbor.
        Saginaw Valley State University: Jonathon Quinlan, of Oregon.
        Terra State: Carley Kidd, of Northwood; Heather Hornstein, of Curtice; Jack Hensel, Brandon Murray and Sabrina Wooten, of Elmore; Jayne Plantz and Matthew Reitzel, of Genoa;
        Nathaniel Damschroder, Andrew Kreais, Hugo Villareal, Joel Whetsel and Nathan Young, of Gibsonburg; Mariah Kiser, of Helena; Maximilian Bierhup, of Luckey;
        Jaley DeLaHamaide, Hannah Lee, Samantha Michael, Karli Reifsnyder, Jeb Shook, Mackenzie Sigurdson and Kennedy Tabbert, of Oak Harbor; Christina Keiter, of Rocky Ridge; Christopher Hilgeman, of Woodville.
        Trine University:  Reagan Guthrie, Hannah Otto, of Genoa.
        Baldwin Wallace: Jacob Vickers, of Oregon; Sierra Corns, of Pemberville.
        Capital University: Adrienne Alore, of Oregon.
        University of Findlay: Jho Calumpang, Regan Gajdostik, Cole Gladieux, Rachel Nelson and Allison Reichert, of Oregon; Danielle Long, of Northwood; Stephanie Wilk, of Toledo;
        Anthony Cecil, of Elmore; Zachary Bolen, of Oak Harbor; Kylie Martin, of Pemberville; Baylee Fike and Dolores Swineford, of Walbridge.
        Ohio University: Shannon Novin, of Curtice; Cynthia Pirolli, of Oregon; Karleigh Kirsch, of Gibsonburg; Trace Lambrecht, of Millbury; Emily McGee, of Oak Harbor; Samantha Huff, of Rocky Ridge.
        Ohio Dominican University: Emma Bergman, of Oak Harbor.
        Youngstown State University: Samantha Maze of Oregon; Kiersten Perez, of Woodville.
Penta students inducted NTHS
        Penta Career Center students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) during a special virtual ceremony on May 19.
        Membership in the NTHS at Penta requires students to maintain excellent attendance, good behavior and a 3.5 overall grade point average. In addition, inductees must meet the seven attributes of NTHS (skills, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership).
        Students who are members of the NTHS at Penta are also eligible for induction into the National Honor Society at their member school.
        Students who were selected for induction into the 2020 NTHS at Penta include: Kaylee Halko (Eastwood), from Sophomore Exploratory; Abigail Hines (Genoa), from Medical Technologies Academy; Abby Lawson (Genoa), from Cosmetology and Jesse Lopez (Eastwood), from Heating & Air Conditioning Technology.
        Each NTHS inductee received a membership certificate, pin, window decal, a seal for their high school diploma, NTHS spirit wear, and a white tassel to be worn during graduation.
Eastwood Band honors           
        Eastwood Band Directors Brian Myers and Jonathan Roode announced the following awards for the 2019-20 school year.
        Sixth-Grade Outstanding Band Members: Flutes - Jenica Rollheiser; Reeds - Savanah Stephens; Brass - Tyler Bengry; Percussion - Austin Miller.
        High School Awards:
        Outstanding Freshman - Mary Musteric.
        Outstanding Sophomore – Kalee Moore.
        Outstanding Junior- Connor Oberhouse.
        Outstanding Senior - Lucas Pease.
        Service Award - Erin Freeman.
        Squad of the Season Award - Tenors: Kaleb Dlugoleski and Devin Good.
        Golden Baton Award - Euphoniums: Zach Sechkar and Jonathan Nassaux.
        National Marching Band Award - Luke Coffman.
        Louis Armstrong Jazz Award - Sam Musteric.
        John Philip Sousa Award - Dylan Brogan.
Students participate in UF symposium
        Students at the University of Findlay recently participated in the annual Symposium for Scholarship and Creativity. Undergraduate and graduate students were given the opportunity to virtually share their research, creativity, and professional learning experiences with the University and community, with many students receiving honors at the same time.
        Local students include:
        • Jillian Banky, of Walbridge, presented “Design and Synthesis of Chalcone Derivatives as Anti-Cancer Compounds.”
        • Christopher Joyce, of Oregon, was named to the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 310.
        • Danielle Long, of Northwood, was named to the Nu Beta Chapter of Delta Mu Delta International Honor Society in Business.
        • Thomas Mahas, of Millbury, was named as an Outstanding Teacher Education Graduate: Middle Childhood.
        • Lisa Martinez, of Curtice, was named a Sigma Tau Delta Inductee.
        • Makayla Throop, of Woodville, was named to the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 310.
Terra State Student Recognition Awards
        Terra State Community College announced the 2019-2020 Student Recognition Award winners on June 16.
        Due to COVID-19, in lieu of a banquet, winners will be receiving a certificate and recognition in the Commencement program. Categories and winners are:
        Fremont Rotary Student of the Year Dana Englehart.
        • Leadership Award – April Nickloy.
        • Perseverance Award – Shehbaz Khan.
        • 2019-2020 Student Commencement Speaker – Jonathon (JJ) Dull.
        • Student Organization of the Year – Terra State’s Student Nurses’ Association (SNA).


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association