Sandusky County: Races, issues on Nov. 2 ballot

Staff Writer

Voters in the Gibsonburg School District will decide a competitive race for seats on the board of education in the Nov. 2 election but the Woodmore school board race won’t see a full slate of candidates.
Four candidates in the Gibsonburg district, Justin Chafin, Sheryl Krotzer, Caesar Mendoza and Samantha Widmer are vying for three seats on the board.
The race for three seats on the Woodmore school board isn’t competitive. Jan Busdeker is a candidate but no one else filed a valid petition. James Boss is the only candidate for a board seat with a term expiring on Dec. 31 2023.
Races for seats on village councils in Gibsonburg, Helena, Lindsey and Woodville are non-competitive. There are four seats open in each race but no more than four candidates filed in Woodville, Helena and Gibsonburg. There are only three candidates in Lindsey..
Gibsonburg – Candidates are Ryan Bowling, Charles Gerwin, Donald Kirwen and Dan Slack.
Helena – Timothy Nieset, Zachary Smithson and write-in candidates Sandra Carper-Smith and Amy Kessler.
Lindsey – Anne Arnold, Barbra Opelt and Cheryl Overmyer.
Woodville – Dennis Fetzer, Kelly O’Connor and Earl Ransom are on the ballot and Joseph Riffle is a write-in candidate.
Races for trustee seats in Woodville and Madison townships are also non-competitive. In Madison Township, Kent Kirsch and Kevin Shammo are the only candidates for two seats and in Woodville Township Kenneth Green and Paul Runion are the only candidates for two seats.

A 0.55-mill renewal levy for criminal justice services is the only county-wide issue on the ballot.
Voters in Helena will decide a 2-mill renewal levy for operating expenses.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association