ProMedica Foundation announces 2020 Philanthropy Awards

Press Staff Writer

        ProMedica recently announced the ProMedica Foundation’s 2020 Philanthropy Award recipients.
        The annual awards ceremony was scheduled for April but was canceled due to COVID-19 mandates. In lieu of the in-person ceremony, videos were made to honor each award winner and record his or her acceptance speech.
        Awardees include:
        • Philanthropist(s) of the Year – Dan and Sharon Farrell. The award is given to individuals or couples who set a standard of excellence in the health and well-being of our community.
        The Farrells made a transformational gift to build and sustain Kaitlyn’s Cottage in Defiance. Kaitlyn’s Cottage is a country cottage getaway designed for individuals with intellectual and physical disabilities and their families.
        Watch their video at
        • Young Philanthropist of the Year – Willie Jackson. The award is given to a young professional (age 19-39) who shows exemplary support to achieve ProMedica’s Mission. 
        Jackson, a University of Toledo Rockets basketball player, raised significant funds for the ProMedica Russell J. Ebeid Children's Hospital, formerly ProMedica Toledo Children’s Hospital. “I just want to know I made an impact,” he said. His coach, Tod Kowalazyk, said, “To spend the time he’s invested and be a Division 1 athlete has not been easy on him. He’s certainly someone when he finds a passion, he puts his heart and soul into it.”
        Watch his video
        • Junior Philanthropist of the Year – Rose Hajjar. The award is given to a student (age 5-18) who has selflessly raised funds and/or volunteered to help improve the health and well-being of others.
        Hajjar, a pediatric patient who had a heart transplant, raised significant funds with her sisters and inspired many more. “I would describe her as amazing,” said her pediatrician, Robert Mills, MD.
        “Helping other children and people in the hospital and ProMedica makes me feel really good because I know what it’s like to be in the hospital,” Hajjar said.
        Watch her video at
        • Mission Partner of the Year – Hollywood Casino Toledo. The award is given to a business partner that has provided financial support to improve health care at a ProMedica Institution or within the community.
        Hollywood Casino Toledo supports many ProMedica programs, the Boys & Girls Clubs of Toledo, food reclamation programs and several other community partners. “We want to do more, and all we can, for our community,” said Justin Carter, general manager, Hollywood Casino Toledo.
        Watch the video at
        • Philanthropy Champions of the Year – Rami Ubaydi, Denise Curry and Dr. Brian Dolsey. The awards are given to a physician and an employee/department that has shown exemplary service to a ProMedica patient and the community.
        Ubaydi, vice president and general manager of ProMedica Senior Care, championed major initiatives as HCR Manor Care transitioned to a nonprofit.         Watch his video at
        Curry, vice president and general manager for ProMedica Senior Care skilled nursing, was instrumental in improving the patient care experience and finding solutions in the community.       Watch her video at
        Dr. Dolsey, ProMedica Physicians, Cardiology, championed ProMedica’s barbershop health program which first piloted in 2017 and diligently works to engage African-American men, who have higher rates of several chronic illnesses and cancer risks. The barbers in the shops were trained in CPR and Automated External Defibrillator (AED) Machines were installed in the shops.
        “I want to be a good role model for my two sons and show them what it takes to be out there in the community. It makes me feel proud,” he said. Watch his video at
        • Volunteer of the Year – Meg Ressner. The award is given to an individual or group whose unselfish and dedicated service has made a significant difference in the lives of ProMedica patients, families, and community.
        Ressner is an active volunteer leader for ProMedica. Her extensive board involvement includes roles on the ProMedica Russell J. Ebeid Children’s Hospital and ProMedica Toledo Hospital Foundation and Operating Boards, and Toledo Regional Autism Network Board. “She is the definition of ‘you will do better in Toledo,’” said Dawn Buskey, president, ProMedica Metro Region Acute Care.
        Watch her video at
        • ProMedica’s Ebeid Healthy Neighborhood Partner of the Year – St. Paul Community Center, Toledo. The award is given to a partner agency that has joined with ProMedica to help create communities where all individuals reach their highest potential for health.
        St. Paul's Community Center was established in 1975 to provide food, shelter, support services and job and housing referrals to the homeless, indigent and mentally ill in the Toledo area. In 2018, St. Paul’s, in partnership with the Ebeid Neighborhood Promise (ENP) initiative, committed to a renewed focus on providing support to homeless individuals, specifically with mental health issues who are known to seek outside shelter in the UpTown neighborhood, navigate the newly adopted Lucas County Housing First Model.
        In just under 12 months, through the ENP partnership, St. Paul has assisted more than 20 individuals in creating sustainable treatment plans that include addressing housing stability, cash benefits, employment, substance use, physical health, mental health and community supports.
        More broadly, St. Paul’s provided more than 12,000 nights of shelter to those experiencing homelessness. They served more than 111,000 meals, focused on providing healthy nutritious meals—often utilizing produce and food from ProMedica’s Market on the Green.
        “This award is an important signal that what we do is important, legitimate and impactful,” said Joe Habib, president and chief executive director, St. Paul’s Community Center.
        Watch the video at
        Visit for more details.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association