Learn croquet with Hayes Library & Museums Croquet Club

By: 
Press Staff Writer

        Play croquet, a game popular during President Rutherford B. Hayes’ day, this summer at the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums.
        The Croquet Club, which has matches scheduled May through October on the lawn of the historic Hayes Home, is looking for new members.
        Non-members also are invited to play at any of the matches. There is a $5 fee for non-members to use HPLM’s equipment. Non-members can play for free June 2 and July 14.
        Croquet can be played with two or four players and involves using a mallet to drive balls through wickets. The first side to score seven points wins.
        With a club membership, players can use the club’s equipment and HPLM’s courts, participate in all club events and receive a membership card and information packet. Courts must be reserved at the museum reception desk.         Annual memberships are $25 per person or $40 per couple. Members also are eligible to join the United States Croquet Association for $30 per person or $45 per couple. Members are not required to join the USCA to be a member of the HPLM Croquet Club.
        The 2019 schedule includes:
        • Sunday, May 5, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, May 8, at 6p.m.
        • Wednesday, May 15, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, May 19, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, May 29        6:00 p.m.
        • Sunday, June 2, at 2 p.m. - Guests play for free day
        • Wednesday, June 5, at 6 p.m.
        • Wednesday, June 19, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, June 23, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, June 26, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, July 7, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, July 10, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, July 14, at 2 p.m. - Guests play for free day
        • Wednesday, July 17, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, July 28, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, Aug. 31, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, Aug. 4, at 2 p.m.
        • Sunday, Aug. 11, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, Aug. 14, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, Aug. 25, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, Aug. 28, at 6 p.m.
        • Wednesday, Sept. 4, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, Sept. 8, at 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, Sept. 18, at 6 p.m.
        • Sunday, Sept. 22, 2 p.m.
        • Sunday, Sept. 29, 2 p.m.
        • Wednesday, Oct. 2, at 6 p.m.
              For information, contact Joan Eckermann at 419-332-2081, ext. 245, or jeckermann@rbhayes.org.
 
 

Category:

The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association