Genoa Schools Scholarship Foundation awards scholarships

Press Staff Writer

        The Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation, Inc. announced recipients of their scholarships.
        Due to the cancellation of the remainder of the school year in response to the coronavirus pandemic, scholarship winners were announced via the school’s Staying Connected website on May 1, rather than at the Spring Honors Award Program.
        The Foundation offers scholarships to students graduating from the Genoa Schools. Students interested in scholarship information should contact their school counselor or principal.
        The Scholarship Foundation was organized in 1991 as a public charitable organization created by the citizens of the community. It has held a tax-free status with the IRS since March 2, 1994.
        This year, the Foundation awarded 83 scholarships to 55 seniors – 42 individual Foundation scholarship funds that offered 69 scholarships, and 14 additional scholarships funded by various individuals, businesses and organizations in conjunction with the Foundation. Scholarships range from $300 to $4,000.
        “Our growth continues due to a community program that is funded by caring, helpful and thoughtful individuals, along with local businesses and community clubs, who support Genoa Schools,” said Diane Gerkensmeyer, Foundation president.
        Scholarship recipients include:
        • Allen-Clay Joint Fire District Firefighter Associations Scholarships - Marainna Heninger, Taylor Mazuchowski.
        • Helen Asmus Memorial Scholarships – Regan Anderson, Brooke Buehler, Aaron LeJeune, Alayna Nowak, Mackenzie Schmidt.
        • Stella Bertz Scholarship – Lydia White.
        • Doris Brossia Memorial Scholarship – Ethan Smith.
        • Clay-Genoa High School Reunion Scholarship – Lauren Wyatt.
        • Curtice Kidz/Allen Township Scholarship – Adam Vargo.
        • Dehn Sisters Memorial Scholarship – Natalee Cooper.
        • Envirosafe Scholarships – Jayden Cherry, Brock Hochanadel.
        • Timothy J. Fisher/Briana Bertok-Schack Memorial Science Scholarship – Kenny Reno.
        • Foundation Scholarship Fund – Luke Frias, Zach Harper, Tyler Keaton, Allen Laytart, Alayna Nyler.
        • Bruce and Alyssa Gackstetter Memorial Scholarship – Grant Goodman.
        • Genoa Area Federation of Clubs - Tomme Bergman Memorial Scholarships – Luke Johnson, Matthew Robinson.
        • Genoa Area FFA Alumni Scholarships – Darcie Goodman, Grant Goodman, Brady Linker, Taylor Mazuchowski, Cole Millhime, Mahala Oberhaus, Amanda Partin, Natalie Pearson, Keerstin Pelow, Samuel Witt.
        • Genoa Area Music Boosters Scholarship – Adeline Linker.
        • Genoa Athletic Boosters Scholarships – Megan Davis, Corey Welsh.
        • Genoa Elementary Parent Teachers Organization (PTO) Scholarship – Natalee Cooper.
        • Genoa Golf Scholarship – Ethan Smith.
        • Genoa Grange Scholarship – Samuel Witt.
        • Genoa Kiwanis Scholarships – Bella Klimkowsky, Alyssa Mullins, Nolan Weaver.
        • Genoa National Honor Society Scholarship – Megan Davis.
        • Genoa Wrestling Scholarship – Dustin Morgillo.
        • Margaret “Peggy” Hebert Memorial Scholarships – Koby Murawski, Julie Robel, Asilia Rodriguez.
        • Lester M. Henningsen Scholarship – Amanda Partin.
        • Roger & M.C. Hesselbart Memorial Scholarship – Kendall Gerke.
        • Andrew Hirt Memorial Scholarship – Brock Pollauf.
        • Jennifer L. Johnson Memorial Scholarship– Darcie Goodman.
        • Ryan Kimball Memorial Scholarship – Michael Rightnowar.
        • “Papa Joe” McLear Memorial Scholarship – Caitlin Gose.
        • David K. Miller Memorial Scholarship – Nolan Weaver.
        • Edith C. Niehousmyer Scholarship – Amanda Partin.
        • Helen L. Niehousmyer Scholarship – Abby Lawson.
        • Irma Nolte Memorial Scholarship – Adeline Linker.
        • Curt Reinbolt Memorial Scholarship – Carolyn Lutz.
        • Carol Scharer Scholarship – Daniel Novotney.
        • John F. Schultz Memorial Scholarships – Anna Sutter, Colleen Traver.
        • The Sheahan Family Scholarships – Bella Klimkowsky, Dustin Morgillo.
        • Marcia Tank Education Scholarship – Lauren Wyatt.
        • Marcia Tank Science/Engineering Scholarship – Samuel Witt.
        • Debra Sue Vine Memorial Scholarship – Cole Millhime.
        • Wagner/Sondergeld Memorial Scholarship – Julia Smith.
        • James Walton Scholarship – Kayle Wilbur.
        • Frances M Weirich Memorial Scholarship – Natalee Cooper.
        Additional local scholarships awarded include:
        • First Federal Bank – Brock Pollauf.
        • Charles W. and Donna E. Foss Scholarships – Megan Davis, Kendall Gerke, Zachary Szepiela, Samuel Witt.
        • Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA) – Dave Miller Honorarium, Amanda Partin.
        • Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA) – Adeline Linker.
        • GenoaBank – Brady Linker, Alexis Meinhardt, Tatum Neumann.
        • Genoa Coterie Club – Amanda Partin.
        • Genoa Chamber of Commerce – Brady Linker.
        • Genoa Chamber of Commerce – Alexis Meinhardt.
        • Ohio Association of Public School Employees (OAPSE) – Darcie Goodman.
        These organizations/trusts are affiliated with the Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation, but their scholarships are not funded by the Foundation.
        Contributions to the various scholarship funds can be made through gifts, honorariums, memorials, wills, etc. Gifts of money or stock may be designated to create a new scholarship or to the principal of an existing scholarship fund.
        The Foundation policy is to give 80% of the annual interest to selected students for scholarships, with the remaining 20% reinvested in fund balances.
        A gift of $100 or more (for an individual/couple) or $500 or more (for an organization/corporation) may be listed on the Scholarship Wall at the auditorium entrance in the high school. Contribution details are included in a Foundation brochure which is available at the school office and at local (Genoa) banks and funeral homes.
        For more details, contact the Foundation at, call 419-855-7741, ext. 21100 or contact one of the Foundation trustees – Alan Brown, Carly Crabb, Diane Gerkensmeyer, Denise Hoyles, Mitchell Hoyles or Christina Lewis.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association