Four Eagles advance to district

Not only did Clay tennis players Kenzie Arquette and Kinsley Jahns advance to the Division I district tournament, they both won every sectional match and would have matched up against each other for a sectional singles championship.
In Fremont, Arquette, a senior, defeated Fremont Ross junior Alexis Huff, 6-2, 6-1, in the opening round, Ashland Simone Haynes 6-2, 6-2 in the quarterfinals and Sandusky sophomore Marilyn Miller 6-1, 6-2 in the semifinals.
Jahns, a junior, defeated Tiffin Columbian sophomore Mackenzie Davis 6-4, 6-4, Ross sophomore Ava Smith 6-1, 6-4 and Ashland senior Lydia Sinchok 7-5, 2-6, 6-3. Jahns was the sectional champion and got the No. 1 seed at districts held Oct. 14 and Oct. 17 in Port Clinton after she defeated her own teammate, 6-3, 6-1 in the sectional final.
The Clay doubles team of senior Lauren Mahler and Macy Burgess advanced to district after reaching the championship. They were seeded second and received a first round bye, then defeated the Ashland team of sophomores Haley Lefever and Alex Swartzentruber 6-1, 6-0 in the quarterfinals and the Columbian team of seniors Anna Stephey and Morgan Amory 6-1, 6-3.
Mahler and Burgess are the No. 2 seeds at the district after losing the sectional final to the Ashland team of Korinne Harris and Audra McBridge, 6-0, 6-0.. The Eagles are coached by Walt Ralph.
Oak Harbor senior Grace Johnson also advanced after reaching the Division II singles semifinals at Port Clinton. Johnson defeated Sandusky St. Mary’s Kate Mike 6-0, 6-0, Perkins’ Bailey Garrett 6-1, 6-4 in round two and Bellevue’s Kaitlyn Cullen 6-1, 6-0 in the quarterfinals. Johnson lost in the semifinals to Clyde senior Emma Strudthoff 3-6, 6-2, 6-3. The D-II district was Oct. 15 and Oct. 17 in Port Clinton.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association